Home Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Vance-Granville Community College operates on the semester system. The fall and spring semesters are 16 weeks (80 days) in length. The summer term is 8 weeks (40 days) in length. In addition, mini-terms may be offered during fall, spring and summer semesters. Each mini-term has a census date, add/drop period, and withdrawal dates that are published on the Academic Calendar on the college website and in the college catalog .

 

Summer Semester 2022

Jump to: Fall 16-Week Fall 1st 8-Week Calendar Fall 2nd 8-Week Spring 16-Week Spring 1st 8-Week Spring 2nd 8-Week Summer 2023

Date Day of Week Event
May 23 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (8wk & 1st 4Wk)
May 23 Monday Last Day to Add A Class (1st 4Wk)*
May 24 Tuesday Last Day to Add A Class (8Wk)*
May 24 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 4Wk)***
May 26 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (8Wk)***
May 30 Monday Memorial Day Holiday (College Closed)
June 13 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (1st 4wk)
June 20 Monday Curriculum Classes End (1st 4wk)
June 21 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 4wk)
June 21 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 4Wk)*
June 22 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 4wk)***
July 4 Monday Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)
July 5 – 8 Tuesday – Friday Summer Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
July 11 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (8wk)
July 18 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 4wk)
July 25 Monday Curriculum Classes End (8wk & 2nd 4wk)

   

Fall 2022 16-Week Curriculum Calendar

Jump to: Fall 1st 8-Week Fall 2nd 8-Week Spring 16-Week Spring 1st 8-Week Spring 2nd 8-Week Summer 2023 To Top of Page

Date Day of Week Event
August 15 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (16wk & 1st 8wk
August 16 Tuesday Last day to Add a class (1st 8wk*)
August 17 Wednesday Last Day to Add a Class (16wk)*
August 18 Thursday Last Day For a Partial Refund/Last Day to Drop with No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 8wk)***
August 24 Wednesday Last Day For a Partial Refund/Last Day to Drop with No Transcript Grade/Census Date (16wk)***
September 5 Monday Labor Day Holiday (College Closed)
September 26 Monday Last Day to Withdraw with “W” Grade (1st 8wk)
October 7 Friday Curriculum Classes End (1st 8wk)
October 10, 11 Monday, Tuesday Fall Break (College Open – No CU Classes)
October 12 Wednesday Professional Development Day – No CU Classes
October 13 Thursday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 8wk)
October 14 Friday Last Day to Add a Class (2nd 8wk)*
October 18 Tuesday Last Day For a Partial Refund/Last Day to Drop with No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 8wk)***
November 10 Thursday Last Day to Withdraw with “W” Grade (16wk)
November 11 Friday Veterans Day (College Closed Optional Workday
November 24, 25 Thursday, Friday Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed)
November 29 Tuesday Last Day to Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 8wk)
December 13 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End (16 & 2nd 8wk)
December 22 – Jan 1 Winter Break (College Closed)

Fall 2022 1st 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

Jump to: Fall 16-Week Fall 2nd 8-Week Spring 16-Week Spring 1st 8-Week Spring 2nd 8-Week Summer 2023 To Top of Page

Date Day of Week Event
August 15 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (16Wk & 1st 8wk)
August 16 Tuesday Last day to Add a class (1st 8wk)*
August 18 Thursday Last Day For a Partial Refund/Last Day to Drop with No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 8wk)***
September 5 Monday Labor Day Holiday (College Closed)
September 26 Monday Last Day to Withdraw with “W” Grade (1st 8wk)
October 7 Friday Curriculum Classes End (1st 8wk)

Fall 2022 2nd 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

Jump to: Fall 16-Week Fall 1st 8-Week Spring 16-Week Spring 1st 8-Week Spring 2nd 8-Week Summer 2023 To Top of Page

Date Day of Week Event
October 13 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 8wk)
October 14 Friday Last Day to Add a Class (2nd 8wk)*
October 18 Tuesday Last Day For a Partial Refund/Last Day to Drop with No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 8wk)***
November 10 Thursday Veterans Day (College Closed Optional Workday)
November 24, 25 Thursday, Friday Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed)
November 29 Tuesday Last Day to Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 8wk)
December 13 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End (16 & 2nd 8wk)
December 22 – Jan 1 Winter Break (College Closed)

Spring 2023 16-Week Curriculum Calendar

Jump to: Fall 16-Week Fall 1st 8-Week Fall 2nd 8-Week Spring 1st 8-Week Spring 2nd 8-Week Summer 2023 To Top of Page

Date Day of Week Event
January 6 Friday Curriculum Classes Begin (16wk & 1st 8wk)
January 9 Monday Last Day To Add A Class (1st 8wk)*
January 10 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (1st 16wk)
January 11 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 8wk)***
January 16 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (College Closed)
January 18 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (16wk)***
February 17 Friday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (1st 8wk)
March 3 Friday Curriculum Classes End (1st 8wk)
March 6 – March 10 Monday-Friday Spring Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
March 13 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 8wk)
March 14 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 8wk)*
March 16 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 8wk)***
April 7 Friday Good Friday (College Closed)
April 10 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (16wk)
April 11 Tuesday Faculty/Staff Professional Development Day – No CU Classes
April 25 Tuesday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 8wk)
May 9 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End (16 & 2nd 8wk)
May 12 Friday Graduation Ceremony
May 13 Saturday Graduation Ceremony (Rain date)

Spring 2023 1st 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

Jump to: Fall 16-Week Fall 1st 8-Week Calendar Fall 2nd 8-Week Spring 16-Week Spring 2nd 8-Week Summer 2023 To Top of Page

Date Day of Week Event
January 6 Friday Curriculum Classes Begin (1st 8wk)
January 9 Monday Last Day To Add A Class (1st 8Wk)*
January 11 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 8wk)***
January 16 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (College Closed)
February 17 Friday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (1st 8Wk)
March 3 Friday Curriculum Classes End (1st 8Wk)

Spring 2023 2nd 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

Jump to: Fall 16-Week Fall 1st 8-Week Calendar 2nd 8-Week Calendar Spring 16-Week Spring 1st 8-Week Summer 2023 To Top of Page

Date Day of Week Event
March 13 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 8wk)
March 14 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 8wk)*
March 16 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 8-Wk)***
April 14 Friday Good Friday (College Closed)
April 25 Tuesday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 8wk)
May 10 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End (2nd 8wk)

Summer Semester 2023

Jump to: Fall 16-Week Fall 1st 8-Week Fall 2nd 8-Week Spring 16-Week 1st 8-Week Calendar Spring 2nd 8-Week To Top of Page

Date Day of Week Event
May 29 Monday Memorial Day Holiday (College Closed)
May 30 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (8wk & 1st 4Wk)
May 30 Tuesday Last Day to Add A Class (1st 4Wk)*
May 31 Tuesday Last Day to Add A Class (8Wk)*
May 31 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 4Wk)***
June 2 Friday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (8Wk)***
June 19 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (1st 4wk)
June 26 Monday Curriculum Classes End (1st 4wk)
June 27 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 4wk)
June 27 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 4Wk)*
June 28 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 4wk)***
July 3 Monday Summer Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)
July 5 – 7 Tuesday – Friday Summer Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
July 17 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (8wk)
July 24 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 4wk)
July 31 Monday Curriculum Classes End (8wk & 2nd 4wk)

*Instructor permission is required to add a class beyond this date. See “Drop and Add” policy.
*During the Add/Drop period, payment is due at the time of registration.
**5 p.m. in person ( 3 p.m. on Fridays) or midnight if paying online through myVGCC
***Students may drop by 5 p.m. in person (3 p.m. on Fridays) or midnight if dropping online through myVGCC