Home Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Vance-Granville Community College operates on the semester system. The fall and spring semesters are 16 weeks (80 days) in length. The summer term is 8 weeks (40 days) in length. In addition, mini-terms are offered during fall, spring and summer semesters. These include 12, 8, and 4 week terms. Each mini-term has a census date, add/drop period, and withdrawal dates that are published in ARCHES, Vance-Granville Community College’s registration bulletin.

Jump to: Fall 2019 –  Vanguard Holiday 4 Week Mini Term Spring 2020 –  Summer 2020

Fall Semester 2019

1st 8-Week Calendar 12-Week Calendar 2nd 8-Week Calendar To Top of Page

Fall 2019 16-Week Curriculum Calendar

Date Day of Week Event
August 19 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (16-Wk & 1st 8-Wk)
August 20 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (1st 8-Wk)*
August 21 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (16-Wk)*
August 22 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 8-Wk)
August 28 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (16-Wk)
September 2 Monday Labor Day Holiday (College Closed)
September 17 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (12-Wk)
September 18 Wednesday Last Day to Add a Class (12-Wk)*
September 24 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (12 Wk)
September 30 Monday Last Day to Withdraw With “W” Grade (1st 8-Wk)
October 7, 8 Monday, Tuesday Fall Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
October 16 Wednesday Curriculum Classes End (1st 8-Wk)
October 17 Thursday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 8-Wk)
October 18 Friday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 8-Wk)*
October 22 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 8-Wk)
November 11 Monday Veterans Day Holiday (College Closed)
November 14 Thursday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (16 & 12-Wk)
November 27 Wednesday Professional Development Day (No CU Classes)
November 28, 29 Thursday, Friday Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed)
December 4 Wednesday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 8-Wk)
December 17 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End (16, 12 & 2nd 8-Wk)
December 23 Monday Optional Workday
December 24-Jan. 1 Winter Break (College Campuses Closed)

Fall 2019 1st 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

16-Week Calendar 12-Week Calendar 2nd 8-Week Calendar To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
August 19 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin
August 20 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class*
August 22 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date***
September 30 Monday Last Day to Withdraw With “W” Grade
October 7, 8 Monday, Tuesday Fall Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
October 16 Wednesday Curriculum Classes End

Fall 2019 12-Week Curriculum Calendar

16-Week Calendar 1st 8-Week Calendar 2nd 8-Week Calendar To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
September 17 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin
September 18 Wednesday Last Day to Add a Class*
September 24 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date
October 7, 8 Monday, Tuesday Fall Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
November 11 Monday Veterans Day Holiday (College Closed)
November 14 Thursday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade
November 27 Wednesday Professional Development Day (No CU Classes)
November 28, 29 Thursday, Friday Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed)

Fall 2019 2nd 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

16-Week Calendar 1st 8-Week Calendar 12-Week Calendar To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
October 17 Thursday Curriculum Classes Begin
October 18 Friday Last Day To Add A Class*
October 22 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date
November 11 Monday Veterans Day Holiday (College Closed)
November 27 Wednesday Professional Development Day (No CU Classes)
November 28, 29 Thursday, Friday Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed)
December 4 Wednesday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade
December 17 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End
December 23 Monday Optional Workday
December 24-Jan. 1 Winter Break (College Campuses Closed)

Vanguard Holiday 4 Week Mini Term

To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
December 5 Thursday Last Day to Register
December 9 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin
December 10 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day to Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date
December 30 Monday Last Day to Withdraw With “W” Grade
January 7 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End

Spring Semester 2020

1st 8-Week Calendar 12-Week Calendar 2nd 8-Week Calendar To Top of Page

Spring 2020 16-Week Curriculum Calendar

Date Day of Week Event
November 4 – January 9 REGISTRATION — ALL STUDENTS
January 9 Thursday Registration Payment Deadline for Tuition and Fees**
January 13 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin
January 15 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class*
January 20 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (College Closed)
January 22 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date***
April 6-9 Monday-Thursday Spring Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
April 10 Friday Good Friday (College Closed)
April 13 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (5 p.m.)
May 11 Monday Curriculum Classes End
May 15 Friday Graduation Ceremony
May 16 Saturday Graduation Ceremony (Rain Date)

Spring 2020 1st 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

16-Week Calendar 12-Week Calendar 2nd 8-Week Calendar To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
January 9 Thursday Registration Payment Deadline for Tuition and Fees**
January 13 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin
January 14 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (1st 8-Wk)*
January 16 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date***
January 20 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (College Closed)
February 24 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (1st 8-Wk)
March 9 Monday Curriculum Classes End (1st 8-Wk)
May 15 Friday Graduation Ceremony
May 16 Saturday Graduation Ceremony (Rain Date)

Spring 2020 12-Week Curriculum Calendar

16-Week Calendar 1st 8-Week Calendar 2nd 8-Week Calendar To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
November 4 – January 9 REGISTRATION — ALL STUDENTS
February 6 Thursday Registration Payment Deadline for Tuition and Fees**
February 11 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin
February 12 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class*
February 18 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date***
April 6-9 Monday-Thursday Spring Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
April 10 Friday Good Friday (College Closed)
April 13 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade
May 15 Friday Graduation Ceremony
May 16 Saturday Graduation Ceremony (Rain Date)

Spring 2020 2nd 8-Week Curriculum Calendar

16-Week Calendar 1st 8-Week Calendar 12-Week Calendar To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
November 4 – January 9 REGISTRATION — ALL STUDENTS
March 5 Thursday Registration Payment Deadline for Tuition and Fees**
March 10 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin
March 11 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class*
March 13 Friday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 8-Wk)***
April 6-9 Monday-Thursday Spring Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
April 10 Friday Good Friday (College Closed)
April 27 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade
May 11 Monday Curriculum Classes End
May 15 Friday Graduation Ceremony
May 16 Saturday Graduation Ceremony (Rain Date)

Summer Semester 2020

To Top of Page
Date Day of Week Event
May 25 Monday Memorial Day Holiday (College Closed)
May 26 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (8-Wk & 1st 4-Wk)
May 26 Tuesday Last Day to Add A Class (1st 4-Wk)*
May 27 Wednesday Last Day to Add A Class (8-Wk)*
May 27 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 4-Wk)
May 29 Friday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (8-Wk)
June 15 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (1st 4-Wk)
June 22 Monday Curriculum Classes End (1st 4-Wk)
June 23 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 4-Wk)
June 23 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 4-Wk)*
June 24 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 4-Wk)
June 29-July 2 Mon-Thurs Summer Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
July 3 Friday Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)
July 13 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (8-Wk)
July 20 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 4-Wk)
July 27 Monday Curriculum Classes End (8-Wk & 2nd 4-Wk)

*Instructor permission is required to add a class beyond this date. See “Drop and Add” policy.
*During the Add/Drop period, payment is due at the time of registration.
**5 p.m. in person ( 3 p.m. on Fridays) or midnight if paying online through myVGCC
***Students may drop by 5 p.m. in person (3 p.m. on Fridays) or midnight if dropping online through myVGCC