Home News Archives General VGCC Ambassadors announced

VGCC Ambassadors announced

Vance-Granville Community College has selected 13 outstanding students to serve as ambassadors during the 2014-2015 school year. Ambassadors represent the college at special campus and community functions, among other duties. 


This year’s ambassadors include Dianna DeWeese of Creedmoor ( Accounting and Business Administration ); Sherly Gerardo of Henderson ( College Transfer /Vance County Early College High School); Cassie Harris of Henderson (Accounting and Business Administration); Jonathan Herndon of Henderson (College Transfer/Vance County Early College High School); Joy Herndon of Henderson (College Transfer/Vance County Early College High School); Joseph Richardson of Henderson (College Transfer); Ambrianna Winston of Manson ( Office Administration ); Theresa Chiplis of Norlina ( Global Logistics Technology ), who serves as lead ambassador; Geoffrey Arnott of Oxford (College Transfer); Kathy Conant of Wake Forest ( Medical Office Administration ); Daniel Davis of Warrenton (College Transfer/Warren Early College High School); Shane O’Malley of Warrenton (College Transfer/Warren Early College High School); and Adam Rooker of Wise ( Criminal Justice ).


To qualify as an Ambassador, a student must have attended VGCC for one year and have achieved a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average. Each nominee undergoes committee interviews. Ambassadors receive special training through workshops covering leadership, motivation, hospitality and etiquette. In order for them to be helpful and responsive to visitors, they receive instruction in the college’s history, programs and services. Their duties include serving as guides or hosts and hostesses at events such as commencement, orientation for new students, scholarship awards ceremonies, college-sponsored concerts and activities at the Civic Center, and the annual Career Day. For their services to the college, ambassadors receive a scholarship.


For more information about becoming a student ambassador, call Kay Currin at (252) 738-3409.


Above:  The Vance-Granville Community College student ambassadors for 2014-2015 include, in front, from left: Ambrianna Winston, Sherly Gerardo, Adam Rooker, Theresa Chiplis, Dianna DeWeese, Joy Herndon and Daniel Davis; in back, from left: Cassie Harris, Joseph Richardson, Geoffrey Arnott, Shane O’Malley, Kathy Conant and Jonathan Herndon.  (VGCC Photo)