VGCC honors Radiography graduates at Pinning ceremony


Twenty-one new graduates of Vance-Granville Community College’s two-year Radiography program were honored in a May 9 pinning ceremony in the college’s Civic Center.

The Radiography Class of 2022 included Alisha Anglin of Morrisville; Adrianna Barnett of Roxboro; Kylie Blackwell of Timberlake; Angela Bowen of Apex; Hannah Brummitt of Henderson; Jessica Goodwin of Stem; Cody Greene of Oxford; Alexis Hobgood of Stem; Nate’ Hopkins of Cary; Morgan Latta of Durham; Jill Massimiani-Bland of Tarboro; Starr Matthews of Bahama; Caroline McGhee and Jason Murphy, both of Henderson; Alexis Oothoudt of Louisburg; Mackenzie Pendergrass of Henderson; Amber Pruitt of Roxboro; Josie Roberson and Katie Testerman, both of Henderson; Alexis Williams of Creedmoor; and Brian Williams of Raleigh.

Angela M. Thomas, the Dean of Health Sciences/former Interim Program Head for Radiography, presided over the ceremony. She encouraged the graduating students, “As you progress to the next phase of your journey, remember to always focus on you, how you can improve daily so that you can make a difference for others.”
The guest speaker for the ceremony was Issack E. Boru, Duke University Medical Center MRI Manager. He advised the students, “One of the best things I learned early in my career is to try not to do anything if I don’t know the reason why I am doing it.”

Boru left the students with three lessons: “Lesson 1: Be curious! The learning never stops, even about things you already know. Lesson 2: Don’t take anything at face value, no matter who told you. Lesson 3: Don’t forget where you started from and why. Find something to remind you of why you started and hold on to it.”

Morgan Latta gave an address on behalf of her classmates. She thanked the educators by saying, “Thank you for letting us fail to succeed; this allowed us to make mistakes but still learn from them.” She commended the graduates, “Through all of our hard work and dedication, we were the ones who got into the program and got through all five semesters.”

Suzanne Brown from EmergeOrtho in Apex was chosen by the graduating students to receive the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) Certificate of Excellence for Clinical Educators. Ruth Wood from EmergeOrtho in Oxford was chosen to receive the Clinical Technologist of the Year Award, and EmergeOrtho Raleigh-Duraleigh Road was chosen to receive the Clinical Affiliate Award of Excellence.

Among other awards presented, the VGCC Radiography Academic Award of Excellence was given to Josie Roberson, the Most Improved Award was given to Alisha Anglin, and the VGCC Radiography Clinical Excellence Award was presented to Cody Greene.

Instructor Angela Thomas shared the history of the Radiographer’s Pin, before she and Anthony Twisdale awarded the pins to each graduate. Thomas led the graduates in reciting the Radiographer’s Pledge as the ceremonies concluded.

Photo of award-winning Radiography graduates standing on stage holding their framed awards.
Award-winning graduates (from left): Cody Greene, Alisha Anglin and Josie Roberson.
Vance-Granville Community College Logo - A Green V and a Yellow G