Home News Archives General VGCC’s Dean’s List: Winter 1996-97

VGCC’s Dean’s List: Winter 1996-97

Vance-Granville Community College recognized 243 students who achieved dean’s list status for the Winter Quarter ending in February, Fred H. Wilson, Jr., dean of instruction, announced.

A student must maintain a 3.25 (B) average while carrying at least 12 credit hours to qualify for the honor.

Among the college’s academic divisions, technical programs had the highest number of honor students, 146. Fifty-one vocational students earned the status, and 37 college transfer students were among the top achievers. Nine special students – those enrolled in curriculum classes but who are not seeking a degree or diploma – were also cited.


High-ranking technical students are listed below along with their area of study:

Accounting – Virginia T. Dement, Henderson; William E. Parrott, Oxford; Timothy L. Twisdale, Bullock; Carolyn G. Cotten, Butner; Marie C. Holsonback, Creedmoor; Jennifer W. Cleaver, Stem; Melba D. Alford, Franklinton; Julie J. Brisson, Louisburg; Patsy N. Ray, Durham.

Administrative Office Technology – Barbara L. Paynter, Henderson; June C. Clevenger, Franklinton; Darlene P. Bullock, Louisburg.

Associate Degree Nursing – Debarah M. Barber, Cathy A. Carlock, Amanda F. French and Phyllis L. Heisler, Henderson; Leigh C. Hughes and Angela S. Williams, Oxford; Kimberly B. Potts, Butner; Linda C. High, Stem; Sandra O. Evans, Macon; Anna C. Ross, Norlina; Nicole S. Bass and Katherine K. Freeman, Franklinton; Anna M. Davis, Tina M. Greco and Donna R. Haynes, Louisburg; Kristen C. Henderson, Wake Forest.

Business Administration – Sandra W. Durham, Philip H. Haskins, Jr., Joseph C. Knight, Carolyn D. Koonce, Nathan L. Lewis, Carolyn M. Moles and Anthony L. Young, Henderson; Joy R. Brown, Michael A. Dickey, William G. Ragland and Rebecca L. Whetstone, Oxford; Ivy E. Jones and Heather C. Thomas, Creedmoor; Teresa A. Cash, Franklinton; Scott C. Canipe, Wake Forest; Gregory J. Ayscue and Amanda M. Brown, Raleigh.

Business Computer Programming – Hollie C. Wilson, Oxford.

Criminal Justice – Tonya N. Pierce and Joy O. Thompson, Henderson; Tammy F. Strickland, Franklinton; Amy S. Cash, Louisburg;

Early Childhood Speciality – Julie F. Ayscue and Misty L. Nielsen, Henderson; Jamie Y. Alexander, Kittrell; Brandy N. Smith and Karen L. Tillotson, Oxford; Mysti D. James and Ellen M. Wilkinson, Creedmoor; Teresa Gallatin, Franklinton.

Electronics Engineering Technology – Kenneth G. Stevenson and Jason L. White, Henderson; John O. Claborne, Kittrell; Michael L. Nelms, Oxford; Eugene C. Mustian, Norlina; David W. Williams, Jr., Franklinton; Doug A. Gendron, Louisburg.

Legal Secretarial Science – Krystal L. Cockrell and Kristen M. Lloyd, Henderson; Dilla E. Scarbro, Franklinton.

Medical Office – Erika N. Chavis, Kathryn J. Davis and Jacquelin Nelson, Henderson; Erica N. Harris, Oxford; Sylvia F. Holding, Creedmoor; Patricia S. Boyd, Stem; Lisa M. Francis, Franklinton.

Microcomputer Systems Technology – Brook L. Ayscue, Nancy S. Brewer, Angela W. Eubanks, John A. Mitchell and Candace A. Williams, Henderson; Charles W. Burwell, Jean C. Cornwell, Susan C. Hilton, Arlene S. Jonas and Sharon N. O’Geary, Oxford; Robert T. Williams, Jr., Butner; Theresa A. Wagstaff, Creedmoor; Amy C. Gooch, Stem; Delores A. Glover, Manson; Craig R. Limer, Warrenton; Mary L. Wardrick and Lena B. Yarborough, Louisburg; Ethel L. Staley, Wake Forest; Sabrina K. Purcell and Selena A. Purcell, Durham; Steven M. Kornegay, Efland.

Occupations Management – Andrew S. Paynter, Wise.

Phlebotomy – Rosa C. Lemay, Henderson; Shannon M. Ellis, Creedmoor; Casaundra M. Alston and Monique H. Hargrove, Norlina; Keshai M. Baskett, Ridgeway; Sharon J. Henderson, Warrenton.

Pre-Technical -Laurie A. Lunsford, Oxford; Jennifer L. Richardson, Macon; Pamela M. Capps, Norlina.

Radiology Technology – Kimberly S. Dean-Wade, Timothy P. Hill, Eric T. Laffman, Stephanie L. Sasser, Travis W. Thompson and Jaime D. Wiggins, Henderson; Paula A. Dixon and Sharon L. Newton, Oxford; Heather J. Bryant, Butner; April C. Emory, Creedmoor; Tanya J. Person, Norlina; Michael F. McGovern, Henrico; Estelle W. Alston, Franklinton; Ginger N. Hayes and Marcie E. Lester, Louisburg; Trena J. Tingen, Roxboro; Michelle C. Barrett, Arthur F. Boling, Jr., Kelly D. Long, Laura M. Misiak, Christina N. Rigsbee, Durham; Kimberly L. McDonald, Bahama; Kristin E. Wolf, Raleigh; Tyline R. Church, Chapel Hill.

Recreation Associate – Kimberly A. Holden and Vicki S. Juckett, Henderson; Sharon N. Cousin, Oxford; Lekisha B. Thorpe, Warrenton.

Recreation Therapy – Dewana P. Banks, Kittrell; Kimberly D. Perry, Butner.

Teacher Aide – Theodora S. Gooch-Smith and Clair B. Ranes, Henderson; Karen M. Hargrove, Middleburg; Nancy Z. Bove, Creedmoor; Kimberly D. Shearin, Franklinton.

Teacher Associate – Tony W. Hootman, Kittrell; Kathryn D. Bradley and Tammie T. Elkerson, Oxford; Karen Orange, Manson; Holly M. Green, Warrenton.


Vocational students who earned honors were as follows:

Automotive Mechanics -Willie Lee, Jr., Henderson.

Cosmetology – Renata P. Muwwakkil, Henderson; Tonya R. Barrett, Vickie M. Hootman and Joseph F. Suarez, Kittrell; Rebecca C. Brogden, Willie M. Hunt, Sharron L. Lamkin, Theresa A. Morton, Ida W. Overby and Geraldine B. Thorpe, Oxford; Gloria F. Evans, Bullock; Shinita Harris and Tarquina R. Tarry, Butner; Brenda L. Autrey, Lorna P. Buchanan, Shannon P. Lockett and Lucy C. Person, Creedmoor; Nancy Jefferson, Norlina; Stacie V. Alston, Kimberly O. Boswell; Yoland M. Brown, Gertrude H. Jefferson and Angela E. Perry, Warrenton; Allison D. Walters, Teresa W. Whaley and Shelia A. Williams, Franklinton; Latasha M. Armstrong, Angelita R. Hicks, Stacy V. Krzeminski, Kelly W. Merchant, Tammy H. Myers, Shawanda L. Neal, Beatrice Sutton and Marion B. Sutton, Louisburg; Lindsay A. Strausbaugh and Deborah L. Turner, Durham; Valerie A. West, Hollister; James E. Pope, Raleigh; Vernell T. Mann, Rougemont.

Electrical Installation – Towyna Bullock, Henderson; Brian W. Harris and Derrick M. Steed, Oxford; Steven W. Fogg, Stem; Casey A. Pernell, Warrenton.

Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration – Matthew W. Temple, Creedmoor; Shawn G. Waite, Franklinton.

Industrial Maintenance – Brian T. Pernell, Henderson; Vassie C. Morgan, Oxford; Gary O. Williams, Warrenton.

Residential Carpentry – James A. Tunstall, Henderson.


The following college transfer students were cited:

Jennifer K. Brandt, Lael T. Etris, Bradley T. Ewing, Jennifer L. Manning, David R. Mills, Rebecca J. Nyquist, Daniel W. Orr, Bradford T. Overton, Kari A. Parisean, Kimberly M. Pendergrass, Alesia K. Stevenson, Kristie D. Vick, Kelly A. Wheeler, Salome C. Williams and William A. Woltz, Henderson; Timothy R. Rowland and David W. Rutherford, Kittrell; Emily D. Richardson, Townsville; Amy M. Lemons and Reina T. Thompson, Oxford; Nicholas Y. Hart, Bullock; Kellie M. Baggett, Christopher S. Brown, Elizabeth V. Kearney and Alonza L. Neville, Jr., Creedmoor; Sabrina M. Bass, Stem; William S. Fuller, Norlina; Jennifer M. Daly and Tina O. St. Sing, Warrenton; Bennie E. Pulliam III, Wise; Anthony W. Arnold, Franklinton; James N. Annis, Wake Forest; Flora L. Moorman and Elizabeth M. Veasey, Durham; Jason D. Bryant, Raleigh; Tina M. Ellis and Jill N. Miller, Rougemont


Students taking special study and achieving the list were as follows:

College Transfer special – Randy D. Stallings and William J. Trotman, Henderson; Nancy J. Radford, Kittrell; Kristy J. Casto, Townsville; Heather N. Glasscock and Jason B. Stevens, Oxford; Dianne L. Schuler, Stem.

Technical special – Carolyn Y. Pittard, Oxford.

Vocational special -Anthony S. Hudson, Roxboro.