Home News Archives General VGCC’s Dean’s List: Fall 1998

VGCC’s Dean’s List: Fall 1998

Vance-Granville Community College has named 194 students to its Fall 1998 Dean’s List.

To qualify for Dean’s List, a student had to maintain a 3.25 grade-point average and get no grade lower than B while carrying at least 12 semester hours, said Fred H. Wilson Jr., dean of instruction.

Technical programs provided 83 Dean’s List honorees, while 38 are College Transfer students, 35 are in Health Education studies, 33 come from Vocational programs, and five are high school students enrolled in special college-level programs.

Technical students, listed by study areas, on the Fall Semester Dean’s List, are:

Accounting – Kimberly Michelle Garrett of Creedmoor, Ruth Hernandez Rodriquez of Franklinton, Anne Catherine Dubis of Louisburg, and Leanne Elizabeth Drake of Henderson.

Business Administration – Tiffany Leigh Cash, Melissa Ann Ferrell, Debra Ferrell Rizo and Heather Claire Thomas, all of Creedmoor; Sharon Brooks-Powell of Oxford; Selena Anne Purcell of Durham; Vickie Diane Bradley and Donna Renee Reekes, both of Henderson; Jody Thomas Pernell of Middleburg; Patricia Fleming Rivers of Macon; and Jedidiah Daniel Parisoe of Raleigh.

Criminal Justice Technology – Kirk William Purkiser of Butner; Nicole Gwynne Adcock and Tyler Ayden Poteat, both of Oxford; Landis Neal Fisher, Stephen Elliott Fuller, Patricia Joyner Mason and Beatrice Hicks Richardson, all of Henderson; Joseph Michael Klauss, Natonya Caprice Liverman and Jesus Vargas, all of Kittrell; and Shannon Chapman Siefring of Roxboro.

Early Childhood Associate – Tammie Terrell Elkerson and Kayrn Vonnetta Taylor, both of Oxford; Jennetta Marie Waite of Franklinton; Cynthia Allison Gendron of Louisburg; Melissa Joy Adcock, Audrey Lewis Alston, Natasha Atalaya Alston, Bertha Mae Brandon, Henri Childers Parham and Melissa Gray Weaver, all of Henderson; Delevia Sheckell Harrell of Kittrell; and Karen Foster Wright of Norlina.

Electronics Engineering – Mark Claude Blanchard of Henderson; Doug Arnold Gendron and Mary Louise Wardrick, both of Louisburg; Derek Scott Long of Norlina; and Robert Wallace Fleming of Wake Forest.

General Occupational – Gail Grissom Ivey of Henderson.

Information Systems Technology – Deborah Kaye Lyon of Butner; Marlene Leslie Brainard of Durham; Carolyn Shearon Ball, Natasha Renee Chavis, Sherry Edison Fritz, Daniel Omega Goswick, Terri Arthur Merritt, and Jonathon Dean Young, all of Franklinton; Sharlene Davis Alston, Bradley Kyle Bobbitt, Latasha Burt, Jeana Lynne Cone, Dwaine Deshon Davis, Toukie Yvonne Davis and Phillip Allen Harrell, all of Louisburg; Tina Nicole Core, Eugenia Daniels Maddox and Thomas Christian Williams, all of Henderson; Sharon D. Hamm and Bratzo Nicolas Mansilla, both of Kittrell; Tina Buchanan Gupton of Middleburg; Emily Dawn Richardson of Townsville; Bobbie Lee Richardson of Norlina; Chad Lee Burrows, Craig Rodgers Limer, Copper Rain and Rita Daniell Taylor, all of Warrenton; Frankie Hugh Mozingo II of Selma; and Douglas Kahihu Ngatunyi of Wake Forest.

Office Systems Technology – Amanda Nicole Choplin of Durham; Readie Williamson Johnson of Franklinton; Shirley Tucker Terrell of Louisburg; Rebecca Stevenson Gupton of Youngsville; Tameka Shalanette Clark and Carol Coleman Piper, both of Henderson; Lee Ann Vaughan of Warrenton; and Gloria Marie Tucker of Henrico.

Recreation & Leisure Studies – Darrell Conrad Richardson and Kimberly Dechelle Steed, both of Henderson.

Earning Dean’s List honors from College Transfer programs were:

Associate in Arts – Nicholas Yancey Hart and Kimberly Dawn Tingen, both of Bullock; Elizabeth Cheryl Keith of Creedmoor; Ola Ahnaf Alkurdi, Victoria Marie Thompson and Holly Elizabeth Turner, all of Oxford; Linda Blalock Bridgewater and Alexander Lee Mayo, both of Stem; Jami Lynette Rich of Castalia; Tammy Lynn Ball, Mary Veronica Reilly and Barbara Bledsoe Stephens, all of Franklinton; Jacqueline Felicia Crudup of Louisburg; Scarlette Laverne Etter, Kristy Ann Gill, Delia Celestine Jones, William Jesse Lilley, Susan Pulley Norwood, Kimberly Michelle Pendergrass and Tim Wayne Pendergrass, Robert Alan Soper and James Gilbert Waddle III, all of Henderson; Jason Daniel Rodwell of Macon; Marcus Edward Tunstall of Warrenton; Joseph Walter Hayes of Wise; Kimberly Thomas O’Hara and Jessica Arlene Pearson, both of Wake Forest.

Associate in Science – Cortne Rachelle Turner of Creedmoor; Kristen A. Holt and Michael Ray Romnek, both of Oxford; Charles G. Kroll of Louisburg; Chantelle Brandy Perry of Kittrell; and Nora Miller Huff and Robert Gray Norwood, both of Henderson.

College Transfer (Special) – Jaye Bradley Newcomb of Henderson, Kathleen Nicol Phillips of Kittrell, Marianna Muse Gorham of Norlina, and David Johnson Ward of Wake Forest.

Vocational students making the Fall Dean’s List were:

Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration – Christopher David Dewaters of Littleton and Jeremy Brent Hundley of Wake Forest.

Automotive Systems Technology – Adam Jason Perkinson of Henderson and Demian Junius Aycock of Warrenton.

Carpentry – Howard Garner Herring of Oxford.

Cosmetology – Alfreda Tilley Worley of Creedmoor; Kelly Samantha Mangum of Stem; Ramona Maraj Bridges, Sabrina Burrell Davis, Vivian Hedgepeth Harris and Alicia Yvonne Pearce, all of Franklinton; Irene Renee Alexander and Carolyn Crawford Burroughs, both of Louisburg; Lumihita Popescu of Youngsville; Shannon Renee Brame, Linda Brooks Pendergrass and Charlotte Alston Richardson, all of Henderson; Ella Anstead Richardson of Hollister, Marquisia Anita Bullock of Norlina; Natalie Jones Guillory of Bahama; Jennifer Arlene Thornton of Clarksville, Va.; Amy Caroline Wicker of Durham; and Malessia Forte Kee of Knightdale.

Cosmetology (Instructor) – Jasmine Danielle McCoy of Creedmoor.

Electrical/Electronics Technology – Jeremy Ray McNeill of Oxford.

Manicuring/Nail Technology – Leslie Bolton Wilder of Henderson; Amber Ann Wheeler of Louisburg; Joyce Johnson King of Rougemont; Deborah Coley Stallings of Stem; and Carla Carver Archambault of Roxboro.

Welding Technology – Jonathan Edward Rooker of Norlina, Tracee Lanee Harris of Oxford and Darrell Branch of Stem.

Earning Dean’s List honors from Health Education programs were:

Associate Degree Nursing – Rebecca Overton Parrish of Henderson; Tammy Morton Brown and Dana Leigh Daniel, both of Oxford; Pamela Moss Newhouse of Middleburg; Annie Shepard Richardson of Hollister; BillieJo West Tharrington of Warrenton; and Rhonda Faix Scott of Zebulon.

Medical Assisting – Erica Davis Payne of Louisburg, Terrie Evans of Oxford and Karen Yenser Bush of Warrenton.

Practical Nursing – Stella Copeland Cook of Butner.

Pre-Associate Degree Nursing – Heather Sulc Hughes of Henderson, Kristen Fiaschi Harris of Louisburg and Heather Alane Scott of Spring Hope.

Pre-LPN – Angela Shantwell Alston of Henderson.

Pre-Medical Assisting – Angelia Annette Evans-Arrington of Louisburg.

Pre-Radiography – Tiffany Leeann Bray and Casey Lynn Greason, both of Franklinton.

Radiography – Angela Beavers Rooks and Linda J. Wilkes, both of Creedmoor; Jeromie Nash Hernandez of Stem; Christy Woodlief Brantley, Dominique Nicole Norris and Jessica Allyn Wolfe, all of Henderson; Pamela Kay Pendergrass of Kittrell; Jennifer Louise Richardson of Macon; Kelly Lynn Jobe of Zebulon; Cindy Marie Bradsher, Vernon Ray Carter Jr., David Bryant Johnson, Leigh Michelle Parrish and Regina Cash Sullivan, all of Durham; Teresa Smith Gilbreath of Hillsborough; David Wyatt McLaughlin of Mebane; and Kimberly Dawn Gray of Semora.

High school students participating in college programs through VGCC making Dean’s List were: Jennifer Nicole Zelvis of Franklinton, Melissa Roselynn Angell and Tommy Wayne Long of Henderson; and Arrillia Lee Francis and Dana Charmayne Williams of Warrenton.