Home News Archives General VGCC Student Government Officers Elected

VGCC Student Government Officers Elected

Vance-Granville Community College’s Student Government Association has elected a slate of officers to serve during the 2014-2015 year. They include President Theresa Chiplis of Norlina, a student in the Global Logistics Technology program; Vice President Joseph Richardson of Henderson, a College Transfer student; Secretary Imani Burwell of Kittrell, a Franklin County Early College High School student; Treasurer Cheryl Reddrick of Henderson, a Bioprocess Technology student; Parliamentarian Joe Ahrens of Louisburg, a student in the Radiography program; and Public Information Officer Kazettah Alston of Townsville, an Office Administration major.


Two of the officers, Chiplis and Ahrens, were re-elected to continue in the offices they held during the 2013-2014 year.


As SGA president, Chiplis is also the student trustee, representing the interests of her fellow students at all meetings of the VGCC Board of Trustees .


The Student Government Association is designed to promote the general welfare of the college in a democratic fashion and to facilitate communication among the student body, the faculty, and the administration. SGA also provides a means through which students can promote interest in student activities, both on and off campus. 


Above:  VGCC Student Government Association officers for 2014-2015 include: seated, from left, Secretary Imani Burwell, President Theresa Chiplis and Treasurer Cheryl Reddrick; and standing, from left, Vice President Joseph Richardson and Parliamentarian Joe Ahrens. Not pictured: public information officer Kazettah Alston.  (VGCC photo)