Academic Calendar

Vance-Granville Community College operates on the semester system. The fall and spring semesters are 16 weeks (80 days) in length. The summer term is an 8-week session. In addition, mini-terms are offered that may include 12, 8, and 4-week terms. Each mini-term has a census date, add/drop period, and withdrawal dates that are published in the College registration bulletin (ARCHES).
Spring Semester 2019
Jan 07 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (16-Wk & 1st 8-Wk)
Jan 08 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (1st 8-Wk)
Jan 09 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (16-Wk)
Jan 10 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 8-Wk)
Jan 16 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (16-Wk)
Jan 21 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (College Closed)
Feb 05 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (12-Wk)
Feb 06 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (12-Wk)*
Feb 12 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (12-Wk)
Feb 18 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (1st 8-Wk)
Mar 04 Monday Curriculum Classes End (1st 8-Wk)
Mar 05 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 8-Wk)
Mar 06 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 8-Wk)*
Mar 08 Friday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 8-Wk)
Apr 01 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (16 & 12 Wk)
Apr 15 to Apr 18
Monday to Thursday
Spring Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
Apr 19 Friday Good Friday (College Closed)
Apr 22 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (2nd 8-Wk)
May 06 Monday Curriculum Classes End (16, 12 & 2nd 8-Wk)
May 10 Friday Graduation Ceremony
May 11 Saturday Graduation Ceremony (Rain Date)
Summer 2019
May 20 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (8-Wk & 1st 4-Wk)
May 20 Monday Last Day to Add A Class (1st 4-Wk)
May 21 Tuesday Last Day to Add A Class (8-Wk)
May 21 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 4-Wk)
May 23 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (8-Wk)
May 27 Monday Memorial Day Holiday (College Closed)
Jun 10 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (1st 4-Wk)
Jun 17 Monday Curriculum Classes End (1st 4-Wk)
Jun 18 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (2nd 4-Wk)
Jun 18 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 4-Wk)
Jun 19 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 4-Wk)
Jul 01 to Jul 05
Monday to Friday
Summer Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
Jul 04 Thursday Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)
Jul 08 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (8-Wk)
Jul 15 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 4-Wk)
Jul 22 Monday Curriculum Classes End (8-Wk & 2nd 4-Wk)