Academic Calendar

Vance-Granville Community College operates on the semester system. The fall and spring semesters are 16 weeks (80 days) in length. The summer term is an 8-week session. In addition, mini-terms are offered that may include 12, 8, and 4-week terms. Each mini-term has a census date, add/drop period, and withdrawal dates that are published in the College registration bulletin (ARCHES).
Spring Semester 2018
Jan 08 Monday Spring Curriculum Classes Begin (16‑Week & 1st 8‑Week)
Jan 09 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (Spring 1st 8-Week)
Jan 10 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (Spring 16‑Week)
Jan 11 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Spring 1st 8‑Week)
Jan 15 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (College Closed)
Jan 18 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Spring 16‑Wk)
Feb 06 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (Spring 12‑Week)
Feb 07 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (Spring 12‑Week)
Feb 13 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Spring 12‑Week)
Feb 19 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (Spring 1st 8‑Week)
Mar 05 Monday Curriculum Classes End (Spring 1st 8‑Week)
Mar 06 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (Spring 2nd 8‑Week)
Mar 07 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (Spring 2nd 8‑Week)
Mar 09 Friday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Spring 2nd 8‑Week)
Mar 26 to Mar 29
Monday to Thursday
Spring Break (College Open‑No CU Classes)
Mar 30 Friday Good Friday (College Closed)
Apr 09 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (Spring 16 & 12 Week)
Apr 23 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (Spring 2nd 8‑Week)
May 07 Monday Curriculum Classes End (Spring 16, 12 & 2nd 8‑Week)
May 11 Friday Graduation Ceremony
May 12 Saturday Graduation Ceremony (Rain Date)
Summer Semester 2018
May 21 Monday Summer Curriculum Classes Begin (8‑Week & 1st 4‑Week)
May 21 Monday Last Day to Add A Class (1st 4‑Week)
May 22 Tuesday Last Day to Add A Class (8‑Week)
May 22 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (1st 4‑Week)
May 24 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (8‑Week)
May 28 Monday Memorial Day (College Open - No Curriculum Classes)
Jun 11 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (1st 4‑Week)
Jun 18 Monday Curriculum Classes End (1st 4‑Week)
Jun 19 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (Summer 2nd 4‑Wk)
Jun 19 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (2nd 4‑Week)
Jun 20 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (2nd 4‑Week)
Jul 02 to Jul 03
Monday to Tuesday
Summer Break (College Open‑No Curriculum Classes)
Jul 04 Wednesday Independence Day Holiday (College Closed)
Jul 05 to Jul 06
Thursday to Friday
Summer Break (College Open‑No Curriculum Classes)
Jul 09 Monday Last day to Withdraw with “W” grade (8-Week)
Jul 16 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (2nd 4‑Week)
Jul 23 Monday Curriculum Classes End (Summer 8‑Week & 2nd 4‑Week)
Fall Semester 2018
Aug 13 Monday Fall Curriculum Classes Begin (16-Week & 1st 8-Week)
Aug 14 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (Fall 1st 8-Week)
Aug 15 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (Fall 16-Week)
Aug 16 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 1st 8-Week)
Aug 22 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 16-Week)
Sep 03 Monday Labor Day Holiday (College Closed)
Sep 11 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (Fall 12-Week)
Sep 12 Wednesday Last Day to Add a Class (Fall 12-Week)
Sep 18 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 12-Week)
Sep 24 Monday Last Day to Withdraw With "W" Grade (Fall 1st 8-Week)
Oct 08 to Oct 09
Monday to Tuesday
Fall Break (College Open-No Curriculum Classes)
Oct 10 Wednesday Curriculum Classes End (Fall 1st 8-Week)
Oct 11 Thursday Curriculum Classes Begin (Fall 2nd 8-Week)
Oct 12 Friday Last Day To Add A Class (Fall 2nd 8-Week)
Oct 16 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 2nd 8-Week)
Nov 07 Wednesday Last Day To Withdraw With “W” Grade (Fall 16 & 12-Week)
Nov 09 Friday Veterans Day Holiday Observed (College Closed)
Nov 22 to Nov 23
Thursday to Friday
Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed)
Nov 26 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (Fall 2nd 8-Week)
Dec 10 Monday Curriculum Classes End (Fall 16, 12 & 2nd 8-Wk)
Dec 19 to Jan 01
Wednesday to Tuesday
Winter Break (College Campuses Closed)