Academic Calendar

Vance-Granville Community College operates on the semester system. The fall and spring semesters are 16 weeks (80 days) in length. The summer term is an 8-week session. In addition, mini-terms are offered that may include 12, 8, and 4-week terms. Each mini-term has a census date, add/drop period, and withdrawal dates that are published in the College registration bulletin (ARCHES).
Fall Semester 2017
Aug 14 Monday Fall Curriculum Classes Begin (16-week & 1st 8-week)
Aug 15 Tuesday Last Day To Add A Class (Fall 1st 8-Week)
Aug 16 Wednesday Last Day To Add A Class (Fall 16-Week)
Aug 17 Thursday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 1st 8-Wk)
Aug 23 Wednesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 16-Wk)
Sep 04 Monday Labor Day Holiday (College Closed)
Sep 12 Tuesday Curriculum Classes Begin (Fall 12-Wk)
Sep 13 Wednesday Last Day to Add a Class (Fall 12-Week)
Sep 19 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 12-Wk)
Sep 25 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (Fall 1st 8-Wk)
Oct 09 to Oct 10
Monday to Tuesday
Fall Break (College Open-No CU Classes)
Oct 11 Wednesday Curriculum Classes End (Fall 1st 8-Wk)
Oct 12 Thursday Curriculum Classes Begin (Fall 2nd 8-Wk)
Oct 13 Friday Last Day To Add A Class (Fall 2nd 8-Week)
Oct 17 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Fall 2nd 8-Wk)
Nov 08 Wednesday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (Fall 16 & 12-Wk)
Nov 10 Friday Veterans Day Holiday Observed (College Closed)
Nov 23 to Nov 24
Thursday to Friday
Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed)
Nov 27 Monday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (Fall 2nd 8-Wk)
Dec 11 Monday Curriculum Classes End (Fall 16, 12 & 2nd 8-Wk)
Dec 21 to Jan 02
Thursday to Tuesday
Winter Break (College Campuses Closed)
Fall 2017/Spring 2018 Intersession
Dec 14 Thursday Last Day to Register for Intersession
Dec 18 Monday Curriculum Classes Begin (Intersession)
Dec 19 Tuesday Last Day For A Partial Refund/Last Day To Drop With No Transcript Grade/Census Date (Intersession)
Jan 09 Tuesday Last Day To Withdraw With "W" Grade (Intersession)
Jan 16 Tuesday Curriculum Classes End (Intersession)